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SB 115, 20-4-134, MCA, Teacher Stipend Administrative Process Description 
 

Overview 

20-4-134, MCA, provides for a stipend from the state for up to $2,000 for teachers 
holding a current certificate from the National Board for Professional Teaching 
Standards(NBPTS). The state stipend is paid by the OPI to the school district employing 
each certified teacher. The state stipend will be paid to the teacher by the employing 
school district. The state stipend consists of a base amount plus an amount matching 
the local school district’s stipend for national board certification paid to each teacher.  

19-20-101(8)(b), MCA, excludes stipends paid pursuant to 20-4-134, MCA, from earned 
compensation for the purposes of calculating benefits in the Teachers’ Retirement 
System (TRS). The TRS issued comments on the interpretation of this exclusion in a 
bulletin dated July 1, 2017. The bulletin can be found at: 

https://trs.mt.gov/miscellaneous/PdfFiles/Employers/Memos/B-3-0617.pdf 

Eligibility 

To receive a state funded stipend, a teacher must: 

1. Be a full-time classroom teacher, librarian or other full-time employee serving in 
an assignment covered by NBPTS certification. Teachers who move into 
administrative positions are not eligible for the state stipend. 

2. Be certified to teach in Montana. 
3. Be a full-time employee of 

a. a Montana public school district, 
b. an education cooperative, 
c. the Montana School for the Deaf and Blind, or 
d. a state youth correctional facility. 

4. Hold a current certificate from the NBPTS that was issued after July 1, 2017. The 
first year of eligibility is the school year following the certificate award. A “current 
certificate” is defined for this process as meaning a certificate that is valid on 
September 1 of the school year in which payment is to be made. 
 

Checking eligibility entails: 

1. Checking TEAMS records from the current year and having employer affirm. 
2. Checking MSEIS and having employer affirm. 
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3. Downloading info from NBPTS or manually searching the NBPTS website at the 
beginning of each school year and matching with teachers in MSEIS. 
 

Determining Amount of State Stipend 

An eligible teacher is awarded a $1,000 base amount and a $2/$1 state match of the 
local school district stipend up to a maximum state total contribution of $2,000, if the 
teacher holds an instructional assignment in a school identified as: 

• A school in a high poverty district eligible to participate in the community eligibility 
provision under Public Law 111-296 (this means that 40% or greater of the 
students are directly certified as eligible for free and reduced lunch; school 
nutrition publishes this list each April), or 

• A school impacted by a critical quality educator shortage (this means the school 
is identified as such in the annual report prepared by the OPI for the Board of 
Public Education in the preceding October). 
 

For teachers at schools not in either of the two categories above, the teacher is 
awarded a $500 base amount and a $1/$1 state match of the local school district 
stipend up to a maximum state total contribution of $1,000. 

Teachers assigned to multiple schools will receive the higher stipend if any of their 
assigned schools is in either of the two categories above.  

Determining the amount of stipend entails: 

1. Determining the school where each eligible teacher is employed using TEAMS 
data from the current year. 

2. Determining if the school is in either or both categories making the teacher 
eligible for the higher stipend. 

3. Obtaining the amount of stipend the school district is awarding the teacher. 
  

Distributing Funds to School Districts 

A grant accountant in Centralized Services of OPI will check that all the work above has 
been done and create a document for each eligible teacher to send to the district 
employing the teacher. The document will ask the business manager, clerk, or 
superintendent to affirm that all the eligibility criteria are true and fill in the amount of the 
local stipend to be paid. When that document is received at OPI, the grant accountant 
will calculate the state stipend and create a payable in that amount to the school district. 

Transparency 

OPI will publish on its website the names of teachers receiving the stipend, their school 
districts, and stipend amounts awarded each year. 

 

http://opi.mt.gov/Portals/182/Page%20Files/School%20Nutrition/Meal%20Eligibility/CEP/MT%20CEP%20Eligible%20Schools%2C%20April%201%2C%202018.xlsx
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Timing 

Each April, the OPI will post a list of all schools in which teachers are eligible for the 
higher stipend in the following school year.  

Statute requires the OPI to distribute the state stipends to the employing school districts 
by March 1 of each year. OPI will begin the process when the TEAMS data collection 
concludes. The expectation is that the OPI will send a form for each teacher to the 
employing school district by January 15. The schools will have two weeks to return the 
form allowing the OPI to issue checks to school districts in February. 

School District Accounting Guidance 

1. The stipend paid to a teacher is subject to all state and federal taxation 
requirements.   

2. Stipends paid pursuant to this statute are excluded from earned compensation 
for the calculation of benefits in TRS.  

3. The state distribution to the school district for this stipend should be deposited as 
revenue 3245 into the district’s miscellaneous programs fund (15). 

4. The state portion of the stipend paid to the teacher should be coded as an 
expenditure in the miscellaneous programs fund (15), using program code 329-
State Miscellaneous Grants, function code 1xxx, object code 152, under a clearly 
designated project reporter code (PRC). The PRC code will be determined by the 
district and the same PRC code should be used for both the revenues and 
expenditures. 

Recognition 

The Superintendent’s Office will determine appropriate recognition and communication 
each year when eligible teachers are known. The OPI will follow statute regarding the 
state stipend and will serve all teachers who achieve this noteworthy accomplishment. 

 


